What Types of High School Diplomas Are There?

Do you want to get into your dream college or university? Well, your answer is most probably yes, for obvious reasons. Maybe you’re trying to get a job after graduating from high school right off the bat? Either way, this article will discuss the types of high school diplomas and which one is best suited for your needs and goals. Also, let’s not forget about their requirements.

With that being said, let’s dive into it.

1.  Honors Diploma

Honors diplomas are awarded to students who perform exceptionally at school. For a diploma with honors, students are required to take foreign languages and honors or advanced placement classes as well as courses at the upper level. You can find out about the requirements to earn an honors diploma from your guidance department.

2. General Diploma

High school graduates most often receive a general diploma. Graduates receive general diplomas to demonstrate that they have completed the basic graduation requirements defined by the state. Students are usually required to complete at least three years of science, math, history, and English, along with several electives.

3. Occupational Diplomas

An occupational diploma is awarded to students who complete a vocational program. As a student enrolled in a vocational program, they may focus on a variety of general subjects, such as math, English, and science, as well as electives to assist with their future career development. Students who enroll in vocational schools can learn cosmetology, automotive repair, and many other skills. These diplomas are awarded to students who have completed a job preparation program. A skilled trade certificate can be accepted in several industries as evidence that the graduate has the skills needed for entry-level employment. The general occupational diploma they receive from their home high school can be combined with an industry-recognized certification from a vocational program.

4. Certificate of Attendance

A certificate of attendance may be awarded to special education students. To qualify for this type of diploma, a student must demonstrate they are unable to complete the standard program needed to earn a general diploma due to a recognized disability. The requirements necessary for earning a certificate of attendance differ from student to student and are largely based on the students’ level of functioning and academic abilities.

5. Graduate Equivalency Degree

The general equivalency diploma, also known as a GED, can be earned by students who did not finish a traditional high school program. For the GED, students need to complete and pass an approved GED course and an exam administered by the state. By taking the GED exam, graduates can prove that they possess knowledge equivalent to that of an individual who has completed a high school program. Instead of returning to a conventional high school program, many students who drop out of school choose to pursue their GED.